Rosie’s Diary – Weeks 10 & 11

Sorry for the long silence folks – it’s been a busy couple of weeks.  But how exciting it’s been!!! After nearly 3 months of preparatory ground & in-hand work – we’re now back in the saddle. Rosie has been so amazing and given us 100% in every session so far…and she keeps on giving and growing.  I can’t tell you how much I enjoy being part of her & Jamie’s journey.

During week 10 we repeated the getting-on/getting-off routine and then took a few steps mounted in walk on both reins, eventually expanding onto a full circle.  Rosie was super-chilled and full of confidence, and so was Jamie.  I’ve not seen either of them so calm and contented since we’ve started working together – just awesome…

During our session in week 11, with Jamie leading for support, I gently asked for a little trot and Rosie willingly responded in the most relaxed and confident way! I cannot even describe how amazing this felt…not even a noisy tractor transporting a great big metal gate past the arena could phase her.

The last time I sat on Rosie – just over 2 months ago – I remember a very tense and anxious pony whose response to my trot request was a great big buck each time.  What a transformation in such a short space of time.  And it is so lovely to see Jamie regaining her confidence and finally starting to get the enjoyment from the relationship with Rosie that they both deserve so much. I look forward to Jamie getting back in the saddle soon too.  And I hope you’ll be tuning it to share that special moment with us when it happens…I will keep you posted 🙂

Blessing and stay safe. Bea

Leave a Reply

